School of Mines News

501 E. Saint Joseph Street • Rapid City, SD 57701-3995 Phone: (605) 394-6082 • Fax: (605) 394-5269

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Tom Durkin, (605) 394-1975

2007 J.P. Gries Geologist of the Year Award Announced

The South Dakota Section of the American Institute of Professional Geologists (AIPG) announced today that Fred Steece has been named the 2007 J. P. Gries Geologist of the Year. The award is given each year by the Section in memory of Dr. John Paul Gries, a longtime professor of geology at the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology. The 2007 award was presented to Fred Steece for his many contributions to furthering the understanding of the state's geology and development of its natural resources.

Fred Steece began his professional career as a geologist by obtaining both bachelor's and master's degrees in geology from the University of South Dakota. He started working for the South Dakota Geological Survey in Vermillion as a field assistant in 1951. He was hired as a full time geologist in 1957 and worked his way up to assistant state geologist in 1972. During his years with the South Dakota Geological Survey, he conducted numerous investigations and authored many papers on the state's geology. Steece moved to Rapid City in the late 1960s to work on geologic issues in western South Dakota and to carry out the state geologist's responsibilities under state law for oil and gas regulation. He also served as an adjunct professor at the School of Mines, where he taught and mentored many young prospective geologists. Steece has been the Oil and Gas Supervisor with the South Dakota Department of Environment and Natural Resources (DENR) for over twenty years. Since 1982, he has been the Governor's official representative to the Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission. He has played an instrumental role in promoting the development of the state's oil and gas resources while balancing development with environmental values. Fred Steece has been a public servant of the State of South Dakota for over 55 years and continues to be a resource of geologic information to the public, to industry and to government.

Derric Iles and Foster Sawyer of the South Dakota Geological Survey and Dr. James Fox of the School of Mines are past J. P. Gries award recipients.

CAPTION: Fred Steece receives certificate commemorating the award from Tom Durkin, past president of the South Dakota Section of AIPG.



#30#